top of page
Search

Author Interviews

Updated: Mar 10, 2021

Authors, I would love to know more about you, your writing process, and your books. These are just a few of the types of questions I would want to know about you and your book. If you are interested in an interview comment below with your name and an email and I will reach out to get your interview.


How long have you been writing or when did you start?


What do the words “writer’s block” mean to you?


How do you process and deal with negative book reviews?


Do you like to model a character after someone you know?


What advice would you give to a writer working on their first book?


What comes first for you — the plot or the characters — and why?


What’s your favorite and least favorite part of publishing?


What inspired the idea for your book?


Which of the characters do you relate to the most and why?


If you could meet your characters, what would you say to them?


If you’re planning a sequel, can you share a tiny bit about your plans for it?




E.I.Q

Author of EUNUCH



How long have you been writing or when did you start?


I’ve been writing seriously since 2016. That’s when the idea for EUNUCH came to me; I read and researched as much as I could, keeping notes and jotting down more ideas, until I realized that I should just get started on writing as a second career. However, I did have lots of bits of writing saved in journals and random computer files from over the years. I had always wanted to write but was discouraged early on. I figured, at some point, I’d get back to it. And, I did!

What do the words “writer’s block” mean to you?


Usually, when I’m experiencing writer’s block, it’s less to do with writing and more to do with some anxiety I’m not dealing with. I’m distracting myself from writing with other things in order to not face whatever is bothering me because then I can just complain about how I can’t write; it’s my own self-defeating excuse. (I’m not saying that’s how it is for any other writers, just for me.) If I can go for a walk to clear my head and make an honest list of what I’m avoiding when I get home (so I can deal with it later), then, as if by magic, I can sit back down and churn out some more words.


How do you process and deal with negative book reviews?


I haven’t yet had negative reviews, however, I also haven’t had a lot of reviews. I have had people read my book all the way through (thank you Kindle Unlimited analytics) and not leave a review. That, to me, felt like a negative. My mind instantly jumped to conclusions; if they’d liked it enough, they would have said something—at least, they would have left a star rating. However, I had to walk back from those assumptions and just let it be. I can’t know for certain why people do or don’t do things unless they tell me, and torturing myself over what their actions could possibly mean is pointless and painful. Also, I understood while I was writing EUNUCH that it was not going to be something everyone would enjoy. It’s controversial and, in many ways, an ugly story. So, negativity was something I braced myself for before I even began contacting agents, and then again before I chose to self-publish.


Do you like to model a character after someone you know?


I don’t do it deliberately but I do find bits and pieces of people I know or have come across showing up in my writing. When I notice it, I make an effort to make sure the person isn’t recognizable to others, etc. And, then, I try to see how my character is different from that person. I want my characters to be their own people, even if they were inspired, however unconsciously, by others. I work on writing them in a way that makes them stand out from the real life person until … well, until it feels like naming a child after a distant relative. They’re their own person with just a dash of someone else sprinkled on top.


What advice would you give to a writer working on their first book?


Don’t listen to anyone else until after you’ve written out everything you have to say. Whatever your process is, get it all down on paper as true to yourself as you can. Put it together in a way that makes sense to you; make it the story you want to read first. Then, once you’re satisfied with it, let others read it and give you feedback. I see a lot of “rules for authors” kinds of posts on social media, and I think they have some generally good advice. But, not everything will work for every person. Especially as a new author, if you spend too much time trying to write the “right” way, you’re going to struggle to find your own voice. It’s like singing. You can sing along with your favorite singer, of course. But, if all you ever do is try to sound like them, you’re only going to be a poor imitation of them instead of the best version of yourself.

Of course, listen to the feedback you eventually get. And, don’t just ask friends and family, or people who may be more likely to hold back constructive criticism. If you’re hurt or frustrated by what’s being said, take a deep breath then go back and reread an author you admire.

Read, not for the story, but for their style. How do they put their ideas together on the page? Not just the threads of the plot that tie together throughout the story, but how do they structure their chapters, their paragraphs, their sentences? What are they telling you and what are they showing you? Then, find a way to do the same with your writing in your own authentic voice.

Rewrite one section that was problematic so that it makes you feel the way you felt when you were reading something you thought was really good. Then go from there.


What comes first for you — the plot or the characters — and why?


I’m a plot person. I’m not sure why. I usually have an idea of something happening; a what-if scenario. Other times, it’s an idea that I want to illustrate through some action or event. Then, the characters evolve out of that. They just kind of show up, really.


What’s your favorite and least favorite part of publishing?


I’m self-published so, for me, my favorite part is being in complete control of what I’m putting out there and how I’m putting it out there. I’m not worrying about what’s selling or what’s hot right now; I’m just writing the stories I want to write. Which, of course, brings me to my least favorite part: the marketing. Writing the stories you want to write means that there actually may not be a big ready-and-waiting market for them. You have to be prepared to do a lot more than just writing a story and then hitting publish on a platform.


What inspired the idea for your book?


2016. Actually, it was a lot of things leading up to that year. Inequality is a still such a monster, especially for women worldwide. As I watched the news, I felt an increasing sense of outrage at the many ways in which sexism is excused or brushed aside; framed as not being as big a deal as the other -isms. Then, I watched as a sort of counterculture developed online which seemed to undermine the actual struggle for equality or, rather, equity by playing into those stereotypes; ignoring inter-sectionalism, summing up The Problem as nothing more than “old, white men,” being more about an aesthetic or hashtag than about addressing the real life struggles of at risk communities. To be clear, this was not the majority of people online. However, I did come across enough posts and comments back then that it made me really think about where I fit into the conversation .. and then I just had to say something about how I was seeing things. Eventually, I realized that what I had to say was less of a conversation and more of a story.


Which of the characters do you relate to the most and why?


Probably Ana. She was an artsy, nouveau hippie who discovered how difficult it is to actually live according to your own high ideals. Living in reality—experiencing the world you’re in with the body you have to experience it—is poetic. Except, poetry isn’t all flowers and rainbows. It’s also dark and painful and raw. Her struggle to live up to her own vision of who she is and who she would like to be when the world around her is tempting her to live otherwise—and not always being sure of what is what or who is who—is one I understand.


If you could meet your characters, what would you say to them?


Thank you for sharing your story with me.


If you’re planning a sequel, can you share a tiny bit about your plans for it?


I have the follow-up book basically outlined. I can’t actually say much about it because it makes a huge leap from where we left off. I can say that it will still be categorized as Speculative Fiction, and that the fall out which Glenda was afraid of is something that eventually has to be dealt with on an even grander scale.


Why the pen name?


My day time career puts me in contact with a lot of different people, and I have to build and maintain a large number of client relationships. As E. I. Q., it’s very likely I could alienate some people because EUNUCH is controversial and political and, although I believe in separating the artist from their work, not everybody else does. Also, I’m actually publishing in two genres. My other pen name, Lizi D’Avila, is publishing in Erotic Romance. Which, again, could potentially (and unfairly) complicate my non-authoring life.




If you haven't had a chance to read EUNUCH, it's a real page turner that sheds light on real issues. Go check it out and if you connected with it, leave a review. Also, Check out the works of Lizi D'Avila's Caliente Connections: A Miami Erotic Romance Series (7 book series). All available on kindle unlimited as well.





Victoria Liiv

Author of Through Hell & Highwater



How long have you been writing or when did you start?


You could say, I have been writing for as long as I could hold a pen. I, or more like my teachers, started noticing around 6th grade that I've got a talent for it. During 7th grade I started writing serial stories and posting about two page long episodes weekly that got the attention of my peers and reinforced my confidence that this is something I am actually good at. I’ve written fanfiction and attempted to start writing a book several times before. I still have the beginnings for the ‘books’ I never finished! I’ve always loved reading and ever since I started posting my little stories online I was convinced I would write a book. One day. Sometime in the future. You know, there is time with that, no need to rush. It will happen, though. And it did! I finally started taking it seriously, when I met Sophie Provost and read one of her stories (which she has yet to publish!!). That was the first beta reading I ever did and it was the nudge for me to start working on Through Hell & Highwater


What do the words “writer’s block” mean to you?


Writer’s block means I need to take a step back from the story, go for a walk, cook - do anything else, really- and get myself refreshed. It comes at times to irritate me. However, most of the times, after taking my time away from the screen, I come back with even better ideas!


How do you process and deal with negative book reviews?


I haven’t gotten many of those just yet, but they are sure to come. I did have a reviewer tell me she is unable to read my book and it was crushing. But it was probably the way she worded her message that cut me deeply. People like different things, and that’s okay. I try to take it as a crowing experience.


Do you like to model a character after someone you know?


None of my characters are taken from my real life acquaintances. Or well… None of the main characters, at least. Casey was a colleague of mine for a short period of time and her namesake in the book is quite similar to her. I like to think Evyline has a little bit of me in her, but I might be deceiving myself.


What advice would you give to a writer working on their first book?


Write down all the important things you want to cover in your story from beginning to end. It can be simply a sentence per scene, but it will help you move toward a goal once you start writing. Don’t worry about descriptions, details and facts in the first draft and write whatever comes to you. Later on, you can add everything. And gosh, there is no need to write in chronological order! Get messy! You don’t know what to do with a scene? Skip it!


What comes first for you — the plot or the characters — and why?


With Through Hell & Highwater it was plot first and then the characters. I spent several months working on the world creation and plotline - and characters. I had a lot of help from Sophie during that, and I really appreciate it!


What’s your favorite and least favorite part of publishing?


Favorite part? Seeing it in the store and being able to order it! Least favorite? Well… I did try to get my book traditionally published and the waiting time after submission was just nerve wracking! The replies: We’re sorry, we receive thousands of submissions… But don't give up, surely, there is a publisher interested in your work, somewhere. There was. Two, actually, but both of them wanted me to pay for the publishing, which is not the way traditional publishing works! I had to decline both contract offers, as I really couldn’t afford to pay. Self-publishing is a thing! It is super simple. It works. Here I am!


What inspired the idea for your book?


I was inspired by Sophie, reading her story and chatting with her in general. We had planned to co-write the book until she got too busy to write. We did come up with the idea together and created the magic system for Through Hell & Highwater together. Archer, Alfie and Finley are Sophie’s characters! The book was supposed to be in a lot more perspectives than it ended up with. We were comparing writing style to the Game of Thrones books. Being overwhelmed, left alone to work on the book, I pushed Sophie’s to the sidelines. However, I can tell already, there will be more Archer in the next book!


Which of the characters do you relate to the most and why?


Like I said before, I’d like to think Evyline is a little like me and I loved writing her the most, which is why - out of all the perspectives - she still got the biggest part to play in the story. I love her innocence, passion for plants, compassion and purity. Out of all those, passion for plants is something we share.


If you could meet your characters, what would you say to them?


I would apologize to Dylan for what is going to happen in the next book. I would need to find him first, to do so. He would be hiding in the magical city of Arcan. I would also thank everyone for their efforts in restoring the balance in the world.


If you’re planning a sequel, can you share a tiny bit about your plans for it?


I do not want to spoil anything. But, booooy, do I have plans! Well, obviously, the artifact will have to be completed. And surely, there has to be a revelation somewhere as to what has been causing the problems. Is it the Dark Elves, like Lisanna mused? Why did professor Kronos summon a Demon after the school was attacked? What’s up with Devon and why did he so willingly give Evyline a portal key? Will Dylan and Evyline get together? Hopefully, I can answer all of those questions and more. I am planning on going deeper, showing more of the world and magical systems. There will be several scenes in the magical capital city of Arcan. There will be love. Magic! A lot more action. Serious battle scenes. Not everyone is going to survive. Let’s just leave it at that!



If you haven't read Victoria Liiv's Through Hell & Highwater definitely go check it out! It's an action-packed fantasy adventure story that's sure to grab your attention and keep you reading nonstop! Go check it out and if you loved it, leave a review. Available on amazon kindle unlimited and paperback.













For more information on the author or Through Hell & Highwater, visit Victoria's website https://vicwritesbooks.com/




Amy Watkins

Author of Cute for a Black Girl





If you haven't read Amy Waktins', Cute for a Black Girl, you don't know what you're missing. Go check it out!






















Also, check out her book, 200 Letters. Both books are available on Amazon Kindle and Kindle Unlimited.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page